Roadblock Dub Collective - Suwarnadub

Roadblock Dub Collective - Suwarnadub / Dubophonic (c) (p) 2021
Mid 2000s saw the beginning of the Roadblock Dub Collective. At that time, Iday & Sam settled in the same residence for their work at a local production house in the city of Tanjungkarang (Lampung). They had previously known each other, as fellow musicians from the Lampung scene. Iday is one of the founders of “Pimps,” the first Industrial outfit in Lampung. Together with “Pimps” he had released an album titled “Set Lampung on Fire!” in 2000. Meanwhile, Sam previously was a member of “Shooter Water,” Rocksteady-Ska music unit that is part of the “Pelita Crew” (one of the melting pots for many Lampung musicians in the late 1990s) and he released an album called “As Steady As A Rock” in 2001.

Roadblock Dub Collective was born after they used to share playlists between their working hours. Also shared insights into music production as part of their current job. Starting from the use of software, to the flow of a composition. They had released several bootlegs and remixes which were often played by local DJs at that time. Until 2009, they released their first single “Youth Culture“. A single that later brought them connected with many electronic music and Jamaican sound scenesters in the country.

The single “Youth Culture” itself indirectly encouraged them to have more intense interactions with several bedroom electronic musicians/producers in Lampung. Collectively, they often hold sets of electronic shows in various places, from music workshops at school to headliners at the biggest rave in Lampung at that time, The Beats Of Sumatera.

Having been on hiatus due to Iday & Sam moving out to different cities, Roadblock Dub Collective has just re-released their works “Mukadimah” (2015), and “Rua Jurai Echoes” (2016) for free and limited. Having held an independent mini tour in 2017, they released “Dutty Bizness” with InBassion Recs (Bass music label from Bogota, Colombia).

At this moment, Roadblock Dub Collective often shares the stage with many Indonesian dub acts, from the likes of Mantasticmate, Anjing Dub, Baxlaxboy, Radit Echoman, and Yella Sky Sound System. Together with these names they were also involved in a various artist album project; “Nusantara Dub Connection” in 2019. In this project Roadblock Dub Collective released “Intercity Dub“. Then, in June 2020, they released the single set “Sepinggungan/Russ” a collaboration with Terranova Waksman and Oddateee, a release supported by 100ribu recs. Still in the same year, Roadblock Dub Collective was involved in other various artist album projects. This time a project initiated by “Echo Chambers” (one of the oldest reggae radio shows in the United States) in collaboration with Dandada Records, a cutting edge dub music imprint from Portugal. In the project “Echo Chamber – Around The World In Dub Vol 11 & 12“, Roadblock released “Puaghi 45” along with many Dub acts worldwide.

Their first ep on Dubophonic Records is entitled Suwarnadub and it consists of six tracks: two vocal tracks (Ngelajau Dub & Achtung! Ghetto Lioness) in a fine style fusing Dancehal with Hip Hop, two dub mixes and two live dub mixes by the rising Cypriot dubmaster Sub Conscious Dub.

CREDITS: Ngelajau Dub: Vocals recorded at GMC Studio - Jakarta, engineered by Yulius Samiaji./ Electric Guitars by Andry Karnegie, recorded at Jiung Room 07 Studio - Jakarta, engineered by himself / Brass Section by Iriawan Wijaya, recorded at AD Studio - Palembang, engineered by Jemi Delvian / Contains a portion of ‘Tepik Tanggungan’ performed by Hila Hambala./ Mixed by Tegi Merkuri at SuaraSuku - Jakarta / Achtung! Ghetto Lioness: Vocals recorded at SuaraSuku - Jakarta, engineered by Ben Gunawi / Mixed by Ben Gunawi at SuaraSuku - Jakarta / Remixes: 3 & 4 Reconstructed by Roadblock Hi-Fi at Harmony Inn - Yogyakarta / 5 & 6 Live Dub Mix by Sub Conscious Dub at Tumbana Studio - Cyprus / Ngelajau Dub written by Hidayat Surodijoyo & Yulius Samiaji / Achtung! Ghetto Lioness written by Yulius Samiaji & Hidayat Surodijoyo / Produced by Roadblock Dub Collective / Artworks & photos by Nugroho Arif Prabowo / Mastered by Sub Conscious Dub at Tumbana Studio - Cyprus.


01 Ngelajau Dub / 02 Achtung! Ghetto Lioness / 03 Ngelajau Dub (Tahtim Mix) / 04 Achtung! Ghetto Lioness (Khesek Mix) / 05 Sub Conscious Dub - Ngelajau Dub (Tahtim Live Dub Mix) / 06 Sub Conscious Dub - Achtung! Ghetto Lioness (Khesek Live Dub Mix)